May 1st, 2016

Double Success

As team sponsors, we are very proud to announce that Lytham Town u-18 Football team have managed a League and Cup double this Season.

Lytham play in the Lancashire Sunday Football League, and today won 5-1 at Chipping to secure the Youth Division Blue crown to add to the Youth Cup which they won on Thursday making it a highly successful season for manager Orrin Benford and his squad. Lytham have won EVERY league game this Season so far.

Included in the successful team is our Director’s son – Matt Neill.

Cup Match Report and photos by Eamonn McNamara:

Town maintained their 100% record in the league and cup by beating Fylde Coast rivals Thornton Cleveleys 2-0 in semi-arctic conditions at Bamber Bridge FC to win the Syndicate Trust Youth Cup Final 2016.

These two well run and excellently coached teams play in division blue of the league’s thriving youth section and they gave their all for 90 minutes in weather more akin to mid-winter than late spring and they spent the first 30 minutes sounding each other out. All that changed on 31 minutes when Lytham’s Frank Sharrat broke into the box and stroked the ball into the Thornton net from an acute angle.

And it took a fine goal from Man-of-the-Match Robert Hanslip in the 65th minute to put Lytham 2-0 up and secure the win for his team. A word of praise of the two management teams, Lytham Town manager Orrin Benford and his assistant Richard Whiteside and Shaun Rowley the Thornton manager and his assistants Philip Wing and Tracie Wing who can all be proud of the way that their charges played and conducted themselves.

The four match officials were all teenagers who have benefited from the excellent coaching they receive from Preston Referees Society, referee Jack Airey, his Assistants Kieran Chell & Chris Seed and 4th Official Shaun Taylor all did an excellent job and they have a bright future in refereeing ahead of them.

The final was played at the Sir Tom Finney Stadium, Bamber Bridge and the Youth Cup and souvenir medals were presented to the teams and officials by League President Dave Carlisle.